United Nations Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs)

In September 2015, the United Nations (UN) adopted the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development. This is intended to be a “plan of action for people, planet and prosperity” and “seeks to strengthen universal peace in larger freedom” (UN, 2015).

At the core of this agenda are the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs). These 17 Goals, with their 169 targets, cover the three dimensions of sustainable development – economic, social, and environmental – with a strong focus on quality of life, justice, and equality, as well as the sustainable consumption, production, and use of natural resources.

SDG Colour Wheel

FSC standards help achieve 14 of 17 SDGs

FSC is a sustainable tool that helps to achieve 40 targets under 14 sustainable development goals (SDGs). 

This specifically includes SDG 15 - Life on Land - but more broadly the FSC forest stewardship principles also contributes to the SDGs focused on poverty, equality, natural resources, production and consumption patterns, decent work, climate change, inclusive and accountable societies, and global partnerships.

How does FSC specifically support SDGs?

To help understand the specific ways in which FSC supports 14 of the UN's 17 SDGs, we created a "Together we are FSC" campaign and toolkit, where you can learn more about FSC's contributions to the SDGs.

Additional Resources

FSC and SDGs
PDF, Size: 231.48KB